Skip to main content

Gaze beyond the concert hall to the wonders of the natural world, the endless cycles of deep time, in this elemental programme directed by visionary Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto.

From the sweeping magnificence of Estonian composer Erkki-Sven Tüür’s beacons of light to Scottish composer Helen Grime’s lyrical welcoming of warmth and light, this is a concert to transport and inspire. Kuusisto gives the first UK performance of the beguiling new violin concerto by former SCO Associate Composer Anna Clyne, and immerses us in his own country’s haunting birdsong courtesy of Rautavaara’s moving tribute to nature.

Pekka Kuusisto Violin/Director
Ruby Hughes Soprano
Aidan O’Rourke (Lau) Fiddle*
Dolphin Boy DJ*

*Ahead of the premiere of Time and Tides, acclaimed fiddler, Aidan O'Rourke (Lau) joins Pekka for a joyful folk fiddle jam session, using as its starting point some of the folk tunes that inspired Anna Clyne's new work. Then the improvisation starts! And in the foyer Dolphin Boy sets the mood with tunes inspired by the onstage musical action.


TÜÜR Lighthouse
AIDAN O'ROURKE & PEKKA KUUSISTO Folk-Inspired Jam Session with Fiddle
CLYNE Time and Tides (UK Premiere)*
GRIME It Will Be Spring Soon (UK Premiere)
RAUTAVAARA Cantus Arcticus

Commissioned by Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra, Scottish Chamber Orchestra and Swedish Chamber Orchestra. 

Presented by The Scottish Chamber Orchestra

SCO 23/24: Time and Tides

Book Now