Skip to main content

Two of the SCO’s best-loved collaborators – Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev and pioneering Finnish violinist Pekka Kuusisto – join forces for a very special 50th Anniversary season concert, in a compelling journey from shadows into blazing light. 

The deeply introspective Chamber Symphony is one of Shostakovich’s most moving and most personal creations, while Fauré conjures a haunting portrait of loves lost and won in his 'Pelléas et Mélisande' Suite. Kuusisto’s compatriot Magnus Lindberg delivers brilliant colours in his dazzling Concerto, and Stravinsky’s 'Dumbarton Oaks' sparkles with rhythm and wit. 

Maxim Emelyanychev conductor  
Pekka Kuusisto violin 

FAURÉ Suite: Pelléas & Mélisande 
LINDBERG Violin Concerto No 1 
STRAVINSKY Dumbarton Oaks 
SHOSTAKOVICH arr BARSHAI Chamber Symphony 

Kindly supported by Claire and Mark Urquhart 

Presented by The Scottish Chamber Orchestra

SCO 23/24: Lindberg, Stravinsky and Shostakovich