Skip to main content

“I want listeners to this symphony to realise that life is truly beautiful. My symphony is an impassioned protest against death, a reminder to the living that they should live honestly, conscientiously, nobly, never committing a base act.” Dmitri Shostakovich 

In intimate settings of poetry by Lorca, Apollinaire and Rilke, Shostakovich’s penultimate symphony stares unflinchingly at humankind’s most devastating subject: death. Uncompromising and blisteringly powerful, it’s also a timely celebration of the preciousness of life – and offers deep catharsis and consolation amid the losses of our own troubled times. 

Conductor Mark Wigglesworth is renowned worldwide for his brilliant, penetrating visions of Shostakovich’s music, and is joined by two of the UK’s finest vocal soloists. By way of complete contrast, he begins his concert with the celebratory energy of the brief but stirring Symphony that Mozart drew from his ‘Posthorn’ Serenade. 

Mozart Symphony in D Major, after Serenade K. 320 'Posthorn' 
Shostakovich Symphony No 14 

Mark Wigglesworth Conductor 
Elizabeth Atherton Soprano 
Peter Rose Bass 

Season Brochure

View the full SCO season brochure by clicking here.

Presented by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra


SCO 2021: Shostakovich 14