Skip to main content

Maxim Emelyanychev showcases the exceptional talents of the SCO’s string and wind players – both separately and together – in this striking concert bringing together ancient and modern. 

With its extraordinary colours and glorious invention, Mozart’s ‘Gran Partita’ takes the humble wind serenade to unprecedented heights, its gathering of twelve wind players and one double bassist delivering captivating melodies of almost symphonic grandeur. 

On the other hand, John Adams’ glistening minimalist masterpiece Shaker Loops charms and inspires with its delirious web of scurrying strings and propulsive energy. 

In between, Emelyanychev is himself soloist – alongside the SCO’s Principal Flute André Cebrián and Leader Stephanie Gonley – in Bach’s deliciously entertaining Fifth Brandenburg Concerto. 

Adams Shaker Loops 
Bach Brandenburg Concerto No 5 in D Major, BWV 1050 
Mozart Movements from Serenade No 10 in B-flat Major, K. 361 [370a] 'Gran Partita' 

Maxim Emelyanychev Conductor 
Stephanie Gonley Violin 
André Cebrián-Garea Flute  

Season Brochure

View the full SCO season brochure by clicking here.

Presented by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra


SCO 2021: Brandenburg 5