Skip to main content

From 'Sleeping Beauty' and 'Tom Thumb' to ghostly lovers and St Anthony preaching to the fish, vibrant Portuguese conductor Joana Carneiro unveils a magical world of musical fairy tales, myths and legends in two iconic works of wonder and delight. 

Ravel’s 'Mother Goose' Suite recounts fantastical fables in some of the composer’s most exquisite music, while Mahler mined German folklore for earthy humour and swashbuckling heroism in his larger-than-life 'Des Knaben Wunderhorn'. 

Joined by two of today’s most accomplished singers, Carneiro weaves together the movements of the two works, creating a glittering storybook of musical fantasy. 

Ravel Ma Mère L’Oye (Mother Goose): 5 pièces enfantines 
Mahler Des Knaben Wunderhorn 

Joana Carneiro Conductor 
Ana Quintans Soprano 
Julien van Mellaerts Baritone 

Season Brochure

View the full SCO season brochure by clicking here.

Presented by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra


SCO 2021: Myths & Legends

Book now