Skip to main content

Join the Orchestra and Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev to celebrate the long-awaited return to live performance – with Beethoven at his grandest, and Mendelssohn at his most evocative. 

Multi-award-winning Russian pianist Lukas Geniušas brings his famed brilliance and boldness to Beethoven’s visionary ‘Emperor’ Concerto, one of the most powerful piano concertos ever written – yet a piece that’s also full of transcendental tenderness in its serene slow movement. 

The young Felix Mendelssohn made a career-defining journey across Scotland in 1829, taking inspiration from the brooding ruins and swirling mists of ruined Holyrood Abbey for his vivid ‘Scottish’ Symphony, which plots a resolute course from mystery and menace to blazing triumph. 

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 ‘Emperor’ 
Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3 ‘Scottish’ 

Maxim Emelyanychev conductor 
Lukas Geniušas piano 

Season Brochure

View the full SCO season brochure by clicking here.

Note on booking

Usher Hall strongly requests that where possible you book in advance for this performance rather than booking/collecting your tickets from their Box Office on the night.

Presented by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra


SCO 2021: The Emperor

Book now