Skip to main content

Equally admired as a countertenor and as a violinist, Russian-born Dmitry Sinkovsky is a remarkable musician, and a performer who brings a flamboyant theatricality to everything he touches. 

For this exuberant concert under Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev, Sinkovsky sticks to the violin: from the elegance and poise of Leclair to the lavish opulence of Vivaldi’s multi-soloist Concerto, written for the Feast of St Lawrence. In between, Locatelli transforms the Baroque concerto into a miniature, voiceless opera, as violinist Sinkovsky takes the role of Ariadne, abandoned by Theseus, in music from sobbing laments to stormy rages. 

By way of contrast, Poulenc melds the archaic and the anarchic in his flamboyant Suite française, reimagining music from 16th-century France for cosmopolitan Paris in the 1930s. And Hungarian composer Ferenc Farkas looks back affectionately to 17th-century dances from his native land in a lively, witty suite. 

Leclair Violin Concerto in D major Op 7 No 2 
Poulenc Suite française  
Locatelli Concerto Capriccioso ‘Il pianto d'Arianna’ 
Vivialdi Concerto ‘per la Solennità di San Lorenzo’ RV 562 
Farkas (arr. Emelyanychev) Five Ancient Hungarian Dances 

Maxim Emelyanychev conductor 
Dmitry Sinkovsky violin 

Season Brochure

View the full SCO season brochure by clicking here.

Presented by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra


SCO 2021: Baroque Brio