Skip to main content

A programme of mid- and late-twentieth century Polish music, including Krysztof Penderecki's piano sextet (with Alec Frank Gemmill, horn, and Maximiliano Martín, clarinet) and Grażyna Bacewicz's second piano quintet, alongside a selection of Polish tango dance numbers from the 1930's.

Grazyna Bacewicz: Piano quintet No 2
Krzysztof Penderecki: Three Miniatures for clarinet and piano
Three Polish tangos:
Zygmunt Wiehler: Usta
Jerzy Petersburski: Tango Milonga
Artur Gold Gdzie: Twoje Serce?

Krzysztof Penderecki: Piano sextet
Three Polish tangos:
Stanislaw Ferszko: Gdy Odejdziersz 
Wiktor Krupinski: Prztul, Uscisnij, Pocaluj 
Fanny Gordon (Faige Jofé): Skrwawione Serce 

Simon Smith: piano
Benjamin Marquise Gilmore: violin
The strings of Mr McFall's Chamber

" took just a single bar of Jerzy Petersburski’s 1928 work Tango Milonga to transport us to another place and time"

(The Scotsman)

Of Simon Smith: "...a phenomenon – nothing daunts him, technically or musically" 

(The Scotsman)

Mr McFall's Chamber: Music From Poland