Skip to main content

We are pleased to welcome Gordon Bragg as the first guest conductor of our new season where his choice of programme is particularly well suited to a chamber orchestra.

The Oboe Concerto by Richard Strauss is written for a small orchestra and turns away from the vastness of his earlier compositions. A work of serene lyricism it will be performed by the eminent young Scottish soloist, Fraser Kelman.

In similar vein, the modest Third Symphony of Sibelius, like Mahler in his Fourth, abandons the romantic excesses of his time for the structural elegance of the Viennese Classical period.

Schubert Overture to Rosamunde Op. 26 (D 644)
Strauss Oboe Concerto Op. 144
Sibelius Scene With Cranes Op. 44 No. 2
Sibelius Symphony No. 3 in C major Op. 52

Gordon Bragg: conductor
Fraser Kelman: oboe

Presented by the Meadows Chamber Orchestra

"Edinburgh's much loved chamber orchestra"

(The Herald)


Since 1972 the Meadows Chamber Orchestra has performed regularly in Edinburgh and throughout Scotland. Under the artistic direction of its Principal Conductor, Peter Evans, it has established an enviable reputation for imaginative, attractive programming. Distinguished soloists, often at the beginning of their professional careers, have performed with the MCO which has for many years received awards and financial support for its encouragement of new work by composers based in Scotland and beyond. The MCO is one of the few amateur orchestras to have broadcast on BBC Radio 3 as well as on BBC Radio Scotland.


Meadows Chamber Orchestra