Skip to main content

Conducted by Peter Evans, this programme offers us music of emotional contrasts, humanity and hope.

Webern’s avant-garde music was still to be some time in the future when he composed Langsamer Satz, a passionate piece descended from the 19th century tradition of Brahms, Richard Strauss and especially Mahler.

The opening lines of Samuel Barber’s Knoxville, Summer of 1915 paint a dreamy nostalgic scene of an American summer long past. Inspired by James Agee’s essay about childhood memories it will be sung by Emma Morwood who makes a welcome return to the MCO after her acclaimed Mozart concert last season.

Influenced by his beloved Bohemian folk- music, Dvořák’s lyrical Eighth Symphony is undeniably optimistic and life-affirming.

Webern Langsamer Satz (for strings)
Barber Knoxville, Summer of 1915 (for soprano and orchestra)
Dvořák  Symphony No. 8 in G major B 163

Peter Evans: conductor
Emma Morwood: soprano

Tickets will go on sale for this concert on 1 January 2019.

Presented by the Meadows Chamber Orchestra.

Meadows Chamber Orchestra

Since 1972 the Meadows Chamber Orchestra has performed regularly in Edinburgh and throughout Scotland. Under the artistic direction of its Principal Conductor, Peter Evans, it has established an enviable reputation for imaginative, attractive programming. Distinguished soloists, often at the beginning of their professional careers, have performed with the MCO which has for many years received awards and financial support for its encouragement of new work by composers based in Scotland and beyond. The MCO is one of the few amateur orchestras to have broadcast on BBC Radio 3 as well as on BBC Radio Scotland.


Meadows Chamber Orchestra