Skip to main content

Two sunny symphonic works by Schumann sit side by side with a new concerto from one of Britain’s most accomplished composers, in this richly-flavoured concert under exciting young German conductor Clemens Schuldt.

Schuldt is internationally famed for his vivid, vivacious performances, and has previously collaborated with the SCO to thrilling effect. He conducts his compatriot Schumann’s charming Overture, Scherzo and Finale – effectively a miniature symphony without a slow movement – alongside the boisterous energy and infectious joy of Schumann’s expansive musical portrait of the Rhine.

In between, German cellist Alban Gerhardt brings his deep passions to bear on 'Litanies', the lyrical, virtuosic cello concerto by Julian Anderson, written for and dedicated to him.

Clemens Schuldt Conductor
Alban Gerhardt Cello

SCHUMANN Overture, Scherzo & Finale 
ANDERSON Cello Concerto ‘Litanies’ (Scottish Premiere)
SCHUMANN Symphony No 3 ‘Rhenish’

Presented by The Scottish Chamber Orchestra

SCO 22/23: Schuldt Conducts Schumann