Skip to main content

Scottish Ensemble return to some of Scotland’s most beautiful and atmospheric churches for their annual seasonal treat – Concerts by Candlelight.

With the musicians surrounded by warm, flickering candlelight, this concert will take audiences on a journey; from the baroque in the form of music by J.S. Bach to the present: including the rich expansive melodies of Caroline Shaw and the sensuous and emotional music of Peteris Vasks.

An intimate evening of music; a moment of tranquillity; a performance to inspire and uplift.

Concert lasts 75 minutes with no interval.

Concert includes:

J.S. Bach movements from Violin Concerto in A minor
Pēteris Vasks movements from Concerto for Viola and Strings
Elizabeth Maconchy Scherzo from Music for Strings
Witold Lutoslawski Folk Melody
Caroline Shaw Entr’acte & Beech Tree
Edmund Finnis movement from String Quartet No. 2
Sally Norris
Thomas Adès O Albion

Presented by Scottish Ensemble


Concerts by Candlelight