Skip to main content

Seoul-born Seong-Jin Cho made waves when he won the International Chopin Piano Competition in 2015, aged just 21. He is now a piano superstar, celebrated for his sensitivity and exceptional technical command. His International Festival recital is a rare opportunity to experience his poetry and power up close in an intimate setting.

Cho opens his recital with two exquisite pieces by Maurice Ravel: the poignant but virtuosic 'Sonatine', and the sophisticated waltz collection 'Valses nobles et sentimentales', written as a tribute to the easy-going melodiousness of Franz Schubert.

Franz Liszt documented his years of travel and discovery – as well as his scandalous love for the married Marie d’Agoult – in three visionary piano collections he titled 'Années de pèlerinage'. The second volume celebrates the composer’s love for Italian art and literature – from Raphael to Michelangelo, Petrarch to Dante – in some of the most dazzling music he created and forms the visionary climax to Cho’s recital.

Presented by Edinburgh International Festival



Seong-Jin Cho Piano

Programme includes
Ravel Sonatine
Ravel Valses nobles et sentimentales
Liszt Années de pèlerinage, Deuxième année: Italie, S161

Seong-Jin Cho

Book now with EIF