Skip to main content

Passions, hopes and desires, in a gripping journey from funereal darkness to blazing glory. Tchaikovsky poured his soul into the Fifth Symphony, and the result is Romantic music at its most heartfelt.

Powerful Finnish conductor John Storgårds brings this concert to a thrilling climax with an intimate chamber orchestra arrangement of Tchaikovsky’s most emotional symphony.

Beforehand, outstanding British viola player Lawrence Power is the soloist and dedicatee of a new concerto by the remarkable Canadian composer Cassandra Miller, one of the most exciting, free-thinking figures in contemporary music.

Sibelius’ rich and potent music for Shakespeare’s stormy final drama makes a magical opening to the concert.

John Storgårds Conductor
Lawrence Power Viola

SIBELIUS The Tempest Suite No 2
MILLER I cannot love without trembling (Viola Concerto) – UK Premiere*  

*Co-commissioned by BBC Radio 3, Brussels Philharmonic,  National Arts Centre Orchestra and Scottish Chamber Orchestra, supported by The Viola Commissioning Circle.

Presented by The Scottish Chamber Orchestra

SCO 22/23: Tchaikovsky’s Fifth