Skip to main content

British cellist extraordinaire Steven Isserlis joins Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev for a sophisticated soirée amid some of France’s most irresistible music – and a quick trip to Hungary, too.

Isserlis brings his lustrous intensity and celebrated joie de vivre to both the sparkling wit and invention of Saint-Saëns’ spirited Cello Concerto No 1, and the bittersweet beauty of Fauré’s 'Élégie', music whose beguiling elegance conceals a vein of deep emotion.

Debussy’s languorous 'Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune' provides a delicately flavoured amuse-bouche, while the nostalgia and musical mischief of the 'Dixtuor' (or Dectet) by Jean Françaix provides sparkle and fizz. Bartók’s Divertimento, by way of contrast, is music of earthy Hungarian passion par excellence.

DEBUSSY 'Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune'
SAINT-SAËNS Cello Concerto No 1
FRANÇAIX 'Dixtuor'
BARTÓK Divertimento for String Orchestra

Maxim Emelyanychev: conductor
Steven Isserlis: cello 

Kindly supported by Claire and Mark Urquhart

Season Brochure

View the full SCO Season Brochure here.

Presented by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra


SCO 2022: A French Adventure with Steven Isserlis