Skip to main content

01/04/20 Message from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra:

"In response to the unprecedented situation created by the Coronavirus (COVID-19), and in line with advice from the Scottish Government concerning mass gatherings and events, it is with great regret that we will be cancelling all remaining performances of our 2019/20 Concert Season. Our full statement can be read here." All tickets will be refunded either by us or the SCO. You do not need to contact us.

Principal Conductor Maxim Emelyanychev opens his final Season concert with Debussy’s intoxicating Prélude à l’après midi d’un faune.

Louise Farrenc may not be a household name today, but her Third Symphony is a masterpiece that has too often been forgotten amongst the works of her male counterparts. It is big and ambitious, and was well admired by the likes of Berlioz and Schumann. To complete the concert, Maxim springs onto the piano to direct Mozart’s tempestuous Piano Concerto in D minor, K466.

Debussy: Prélude à l’après-midi d’un faune
Farrenc: Symphony No 3 in G minor
Mozart: Piano Concerto No 20 in D minor, K466

Maxim Emelyanychev: Conductor / Piano


SCO 2019/20: Maxim directs Mozart Piano Concerto No 20 (cancelled)