Skip to main content

So many wonderful soloists in this concert!

Each of Ginastera’s 12 Variaciones puts different orchestral players in the spotlight, making a kind of kaleidoscopic spectacular. Then Bertrand Chamayou takes the stage for Ravel’s jazzy concerto. Ravel fell in love with jazz in the 1920s and fused it brilliantly with his own European heritage.

Chamayou is sparky, dazzlingly virtuosic, but thoughtful and sensitive too: the ideal soloist. After such a high-octane first half, Pons closes the evening with Beethoven’s lustrous Fourth Symphony.

Ginastera: Variaciones Concertantes
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G
Beethoven: Symphony No 4

Josep Pons: Conductor
Bertrand Chamayou: Piano

Proudly sponsored by


Ravel Piano Concerto played by Bertrand Chamayou