Skip to main content

Principal Conductor Peter Evans conducts the second concert of the Meadows season in which Mozart's classicism and Stravinsky's neo-classicism are contrasted with Brahms's wonderful, expansive final work for orchestra.

Mozart's Symphony No 29 in A - written at the age of 18 - is certainly one of his loveliest. The Danses Concertantes was originally written for the concert hall, though there can be little doubt that Stravinsky had clear ideas about its suitability for dance. In Brahms's Double Concerto, Meadows is joined by SCO principal cello, Philip Higham - making a very welcome return to the Meadows - and violinist Colin Scobie, first violin of the Maxwell Quartet, in a very keenly anticipated first appearance with the orchestra.

Mozart: Symphony No 29 in A major K 201
Stravinsky: Danses Concertantes
Brahms: Double Concerto Op 102


Meadows Chamber Orchestra