Skip to main content

The Meadows Chamber Orchestra is delighted to welcome the return of Gordon Bragg as the first guest conductor of their new season in this programme of music for a string orchestra.

Elgar’s Sospiri (sighs) is a short adagio including a harp. Tom Aitken’s short piece is the winning entry in last year’s annual MCO Composers’ Competition.

The eminent clarinettist, Maximiliano Martín, Principal with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, is joining us for the performance of Copland’s clarinet concerto commissioned by the jazz clarinettist Benny Goodman.

Tchaikovsky’s Souvenir de Florence originally a String Sextet is arranged here for String Orchestra. It was titled because the composer sketched one of the work's principal themes while visiting Florence, otherwise it is brilliant string writing very Russian in character.

Elgar: Sospiri ‘Adagio for String Orchestra, with harp’ Op 70
Tom Aitken: A Pink Chaise Longue
Copland: Clarinet Concerto
Tchaikovsky: Souvenir de Florence Op 70


Meadows Chamber Orchestra