Skip to main content

Energy, light, colour and the magic of the Aurora Borealis form the inspiration behind John McLeod's 'Nordic Fire' –  a new Viola Concerto written for the Orchestra and the brilliant Jane Atkins. Grieg links Nordic and Scottish, having a great-grandfather born here before emigrating to Norway.

Joseph Swensen has a great love for Beethoven’s late quartets, rearranging the parts for the full string section. He explains: “Personally, I think the late quartets are an example of how Beethoven’s mind started evolving at its own relatively unchecked pace following the onset of his deafness and resulting isolation. That evolution, unencumbered by any musical distractions or influences, sped up dramatically as his hearing deteriorated further. In my view, his mind and imagination were practically in the 20th Century by the time he wrote Op 131, even though it was actually written in 1826!”

Grieg: Holberg Suite
Mcleod: Viola Concerto ‘Nordic Fire’  World Premiere
Beethoven (arr Swensen): Quartet No 14 in C-sharp minor, Op 131  

Joseph Swensen: Conductor
Jane Atkins: Viola

Kindly supported by Donald and Louise MacDonald


McLeod Nordic Fire