Skip to main content

Giuseppe Tartini, the great composer and violinist – the first known owner of a Stradivarius violin – died 251 years ago aged 79, leaving a legacy of virtuoso violin pieces.

La Serenissima explores his violin sonata repertoire including the stunning 'Devil’s Trill', the best known of all.

Adrian Chandler violin
Vladimir Waltham cello
Lynda Sayce theorbo
Robert Howarth harpsichord

Tartini’s 251st: 'Virtuoso Violin Music' and 'The Devil’s Trill'

Presented by the Georgian Concert Society

The Georgian Concert Society is committed to following government guidelines and to ensure Covid safe performances. Physical distancing will be in place and audience members are asked to wear face coverings when moving around the buildings and to respect the wish for physical distancing of others.  

Full programmes will be available online one week before the performance and running orders will be available free of charge. The first concert will be streamed via the website to allow ticket holders who are unable to attend to enjoy the concert. Should there be sufficient demand this will be repeated at other concerts.

To apply for subscriptions (a saving of £23 across all six concerts), please contact the Society directly via or 0131 447 5628.

About St Andrew’s & St George’s West Church
St Andrew’s Church (now St Andrew’s & St George’s West Church), with its distinctive oval shape, was built in 1784 - the first church to be built in the Georgian New Town of Edinburgh. 

Click here for further information about The Georgian Concert Society.

"Chandler’s wheeling and diving solo violin – all is light and energy… nothing short of magnificent" 

(Gramophone magazine, February 2020)

La Serenissima