Skip to main content

Two magnificent wind ensembles; three exhilarating masterpieces from the wind repertoire.

The SCO’s own eminent Wind Soloists join forces with the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland’s crack Stevenson Winds for an afternoon of high spirits and playful charm under conductor Gordon Bragg. Mozart’s colourful Divertimento, originally for three basset horns; Hindemith’s brief but eccentric wind quintet; and the Mozartian mellowness of Strauss’ good-natured wind symphony in all but name.

Mozart: Divertimento No 3 in B-flat, K439b, for 2 Basset Horns & Bassoon
Hindemith: Kleine Kammermusik
Strauss: Sonatina No 2 in E-flat ‘Happy Workshop’

Gordon Bragg: Conductor
RCS Stevenson Winds

SCO Wind Soloists
Alison Mitchell: Flute
Robin Williams: Oboe
Maximiliano Martín: Clarinet
William Stafford: Basset Horn
Alison Green: Contrabassoon
Alec Frank-Gemmill: Horn
Harry Johnstone: Horn 


Chamber Sunday: Mozart, Hindemith, Strauss