Skip to main content

From beaming optimism to aching poignancy: an ensemble of SCO strings takes you on a profound emotional journey in the Season’s final chamber concert.

Dvořák’s Quintet teems with melting Bohemian melody, while the infectious eagerness of Bartók’s vibrant Romanian Folk Dances draws on his own musical research in the country. Strauss’ intensely personal Metamorphosen, however, is a tragic reflection on the devastation the composer saw during World War Two – heartrending, gripping and deeply cathartic.

Dvořák: Quintet in G, Op 77
Bartók: Romanian Folk Dances
Strauss: Metamorphosen

Benjamin Marquise Gilmore, Ruth Crouch: Violin
Jane Atkins, Felix Tanner: Viola
Philip Higham, Su-A Lee: Cello
Nikita Naumov: Double Bass


Chamber Sunday: Dvořák, Bartók, Strauss