Skip to main content

Described as a conductor “full of fizzy finesse”, Richard Egarr presents a celebration of Handel and Purcell. 

There’s a riot of colour in Handel’s Music for the Royal Fireworks and in his Concerto Grosso Op 3 No 1, and exquisitely beautiful arias from his humorous musical drama Semele, delivered by the dazzling soprano Carolyn Sampson.

Purcell’s glimmering suite from the opera The Fairy Queen draws inspiration from Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream, a bewitching tale celebrating the wonder and joy of love in all its forms. Purcell conjures up an enchanted world where the magical forces of nature reign supreme. 

Purcell: Music from The Fairy Queen
Handel: Concerto Grosso Op 3 No 1 in B-flat
Handel: Arias from Semele: Oh, Jove in pity; Oh sleep; Myself I shall adore
Handel: Music for the Royal Fireworks

Richard Egarr: Conductor / Harpsichord       
Carolyn Sampson: Soprano  


Brilliance of the Baroque conducted by Richard Egarr