Skip to main content

We are sorry that due to the on-going restrictions on indoor events, this concert has been cancelled. All ticket holders will receive a refund automatically and do not need to do anything. We look forward to welcoming you to the rest of the season.

Put on your dancing shoes and let your hair down to join the SCO in jazzy, foot-tapping style on both sides of the Atlantic, with Conductor Emeritus Joseph Swensen as master of ceremonies.

Dixieland meets Baroque brilliance in Milhaud’s bewitching ballet score 'La Création du monde', infused with the jazz he encountered on the streets of Harlem, while Poulenc freely mixes Mozart, Tchaikovsky and catchy Parisian tunes in the breathless energy of his sunny Sinfonietta.

SCO Principal Clarinet Maximiliano Martín is a remarkably expressive soloist in his own right, and he completes the programme with two larger-than-life masterpieces: the bittersweet lyricism and wild euphoria of Copland’s Clarinet Concerto, written for jazz legend Benny Goodman; and Bernstein’s jazzy, snazzy Sonata, recast across the vivid colours of the Orchestra.

MILHAUD 'La Création du monde'
COPLAND Clarinet Concerto
BERNSTEIN (arr. Ramin) Sonata for Clarinet & Orchestra                 
POULENC Sinfonietta

Joseph Swensen: conductor
Maximiliano Martín: clarinet

Kindly supported by the SCO American Development Fund.

Season Brochure

View the full SCO Season Brochure here.

Presented by the Scottish Chamber Orchestra


SCO 2022: Musique Amérique (cancelled)

Book now