WHAT'S ON / Joshua Bell & Dénes Várjon

Edinburgh International Festival presents

Joshua Bell & Dénes Várjon

21 August 2017 at 11:00am

Joshua Bell: violin
Dénes Várjon: piano

Mendelssohn: Violin Sonata in F (1838)
Brahms: Violin Sonata No 3 in D minor Op 108
Grieg: Violin Sonata No 3

Joshua Bell is quite simply a musical phenomenon – not only one of the world’s great violin soloists, but also a respected chamber musician and an accomplished orchestra director.

For the first recital in his three-concert residency at International Festival 2017, the celebrated US violinist joins exceptional Hungarian pianist Dénes Várjon, a regular recital collaborator, in some of the Romantic repertoire’s most gloriously expressive chamber music for violin and piano.

Mendelssohn’s grand F major Sonata from 1838 is cast on a concerto-like scale, with an exhilarating, sweeping energy, while Brahms’s final Violin Sonata brims over with athletic abandon and stormy drama. Bell and Várjon conclude their recital with the touching Nordic lyricism of Grieg.

This concert will be broadcast live on BBC Radio 3

Bookmark and Share

Joshua Bell & Dénes Várjon / information

Joshua Bell & Dénes Várjon
Event Joshua Bell & Dénes Várjon
Date 21 August 2017 at 11:00am
Tickets £9-£32.50 + £1 transaction fee*

*Edinburgh International Festival Bookings:
Online: www.eif.co.uk
Telephone: 0131 473 2000
In person: Hub Tickets, The Hub, Castlehill, Edinburgh EH1 2NE
A transaction fee of £1 per ticket, up to a maximum of £4, will be added to all bookings